Light On Water


Catching the fleeting sunset in Oregon shows me the play of light on water displayed on the big screen of the twilight sky.   Lilacs blooming in full strength perfume the periwinkle air.

Lilacs in Twilight

If words are unspoken are they unheard?  I hear a calm calling in the midst of the closing chaos.  Will I turn away from the beauty because my pain is so great?  Will I choose to listen for the voice that soothes in favor of the cutting rush of angry adrenaline?   Must I really choose.  Hold this moment and think about it tomorrow.  Clouds disappear in the rising sun.  What is this tugging me.  My camera is handy so I set the scene and the pictures revel the subtle play of sunlight on water in a gemstone called Opal.  My grandmothers name was Opal.  She played the part of Mother to tragedies in my youth.   In summer,  while it was still light, she sends me to bed.  My resentment has no boundaries.  I knew she was coming.  I listen for her heels clicking on the linoleum as she turns the hall light off.  I do not say, “Good Night.”  Darkness surrounds  my anger.  Sleep is a chore.   Reluctantly, I give up the day and surrender to the night.

The Softness of Peruvian Pink Opal

Opals are unlike any other gemstone.  They defy their classification.  This gemstone forms by evaporation.  See a volcano erupting.  Molten stone is flung high in the air.  Falling into pocky cold rocks filled with water.  A tiny seed of crystal attached to the hot rock enveloped in great clouds of steam.  More molten stone hurls itself on top of the crystal seed.  The incubator of time  passes.   A man picks up the rock.  Cracks it open and sees the mysterious play of light reflecting  rainbows inside a solid rock.  Heady stuff.  Opals come in many colors and are a large part water just like we are.  Like us they are fragile.  The colors are best felt in their reflection on the skin and Mexican Fire Opals play to win.

Fire Opals Sacred Stone

Fire Opal responds to the warm water evaporating from our skin.  They, like the peruvian Pink, don’t display fire.  They are the color of fire.  Red being the most precious has the most water.  I designed a necklace  of Opals so they jumble over your skin.  They move flashing the message, “Come Here”.  Take a better look.  Scrying is a term used to describe how sound waves make patterns on the face of water.  If you talk to an Opal they react.  They hold  thought forming  patterns and show it on your skin.  Careful,  people will be able to see your thoughts.   Like a neon sign at night. Life is a series of choices.   By choosing to handle with care I have learned to love an Opal.

Apricot Sunset Sky

Please visit my Web Store and buy a piece of jewelry.

looksgoodonya.etsy.com

See if a gemstone is calling you.

Kathleen

Leave a Reply

